Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 


Learn from the "Master of the Flute" in Weggis, Switzerland! Join us from 19-28 July 2019 for masterclasses, Guest Artists, concerts, ensembles, exhibitors, awards and much more. Sir James and Lady Galway invite you to join them for the 30th Annual Galway Flute Festival!


Each year we are proud to present awards to festival participants immediately following the Grand Finale Concert on the last day of the festival. These awards include the prestigious Rising Star Award, which is given to the student who most exemplifies the Galway school of flute playing. We are thrilled to present Headjoint Awards, scholarships to future Galway Festivals and other various prizes that are graciously donated by our sponsors. Emanuel Flutes, Gemeinhardt Flutes, Lafin Headjoints, Mancke Piccolos/Adams European Flute Centre, Nagahara Flutes and Wm. S. Haynes Co. have each donated headjoints, flutes or instruments in previous years.

We are very grateful to the flute companies that donate these prizes and allow us the opportunity to try their wonderful instruments throughout our Festival!

Rising Stars 2018

luna vigni


LUNA VIGNI, born in 1998, graduated with honors from the Institute of Advanced Music Education R. Franci di Siena, under the guidance of Maestro Luciano Tristaino. She has won multiple prizes in national and international competitions as a soloist: Virtuoso Prize (Mozarteum / Salzburg), Premio Crescendo (Florence), Riviera Etrusca Prize (Piombino), Premio Rovere d'Oro, Venaria Reale Prize (Turin), Rising Star 2018 (Galway Flute Festival, Switzerland) and numerous others. In 2018, she performed with the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, with the Orchestra of the University of Milan and as a soloist. She had the incredible opportunity to open the Concert of Sir James Galway with the Orchestra ArteViva (Milan).

In 2018, Luna obtained eligibility for the Orchestral Course of the “Accademia della Scala”, the European Youth Orchestra Discanto, the International Chamber Philarmonic of Lugano and was a finalist of the European Orchestra EUYO. Currently, Luna is a member of the Italian Youth Orchestra (OGI), the Swiss Youth Orchestra (SJSO) and the Ernst & Young Youth Orchestra of Rome. 

In June 2018, she completed the Master of Music Performance degree with honors under the guidance of A. Oliva at the Conservatory of Italian Switzerland. She will continue studying at the Conservatory and pursue a Master of Arts in Specialized Performance (Solism) under the guidance of Maestro Felix Renngli.

marianna żołnacz


Marianna Żołnacz began flute playing at the age of seven at ZPSM No. 4. K. Szymanowski in Warsaw, in professor Maria Peradzyńska-Filip’s class. Since 2015, she has been a student at the Mozarteum University of Music in Salzburg in professor Michael Martin Kofler’s class.

She is a laureate of over than 50 national and international competitions including eight Grand Prix prizes. Her last achievements include the 2018 Galway Flute Festival Rising Star Award and 14k Nagahara Headjoint winner, Overall Winner at the 16th International Competition Pro Bohemia Ostrava for Wind Instruments, Piano, Organ and Voice (Ostrava, 2018) and Third Prize at the 9th Kobe International Flute Competition (Japan, 2017).

Żołnacz has performed many flute concertos as a soloist with orchestras in Poland and abroad, such as Warsaw Philharmonic, the National Orchestra of Poland, The Slovak State Philharmonic Kosice, Podlasie Opera and Philharmonic – European Art Centre in Białystok, The Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra. She has worked under the baton of many talented conductors, including Michał Dworzyński, Paweł Kapuła, Hiroshi Sekiya, Mirosław Jacek Błaszczyk, Marzena Diakun, Łukasz Borowicz, Michał Klauza, Rafał Delekta, Gergely Menesi, Mirko Krajci.

She perfected her skills with many great flutists, such as Sir James Galway, Marina Piccinini, Urszula Janik, Philippe Bernold, Kersten Mccall, Christina Fassbender, Elżbieta Gajewska, Philippe Benoit, Hansgeorg Schmeiser, Łukasz Długosz, Carlo Jans, Anne-Caterine Heinzmann, Antoni Wierzbiński, Pierre -Yves Artaud and Dejan Gavric.

Previous rising star winners


Amy Gillen, Lorenzo Morrocchi, Katy Wherry


Stephen Clark, Barbara Kortmann


Amalia Tortajada Zanón


Jade Bultitude, Niall O'Riordan, Albert Pae, Jessica Wilkes


Elisabet Franch


Aslihan And, Katerina Bachevska


Marlene Verwey Cooper


Charlotte Bletton


Irina Stachinskaya

previous headjoint/instrument winners

2017 - Giulia Casa, Elsbeth Fager, Imogen Davey, Amy Gillen, Robin Graillot-Vuillecot, Caitlyn Lyerly, Amy-Jayne Milton

2016 - Stephen Clark, Amy Gillen, Valerie Henning, Axolile Hoza, Ingrid Neset, Lucas Martins Pedro, Robert de Vries

2015 - Elisabet Franch, Amy Gillen, Myles Roberts, Nkosana Gugulethu Soko, Niccolò Valerio

2014 - Adriana Ferreira, Niall O'Riordan, Ruta Vaytkute, Daniela Vilasi, Katy Wherry

2013 - Elisabet Franch, Marianna Zolnacz, Aleksandra Zvereva

2012 - Katerina Bachevska, Lorenzo Morrocchi, Niccolò Valerio, Luna Vigni

2011 - Aslihan And, Jade Bultitude, Klara Petrovich

2010 - Charlotte Bletton, Bobbi Blood, Lorenzo Gavanna, Ekaterina Nikitina

2009 - Merve Ablay, Jessica Wilkes

2008 - Vito Bergs, Rita D'Arcangelo, Marlene Verwey

2007 - Anna Stokes, Kristen Swain